Ladies Spring Presentations and Spring League Final (Demo)


There was great excitement on Saturday 5th April in Rossmore Golf Club where 5 qualifying teams of ladies teed off to compete in the 2019 Spring League Final. The lovely weather added to the high spirits on the day and the high standard of play. The winning team consisting of Finola Hunt, Dympna Kerr, Patricia McDermott, Marion McDonnell and Grainne O’Reilly took the first prize with a fantastic score of 79 and was closely followed by the 2nd place team of Patricia McMahon, Eileen boylan Keough, Pauline Leonard, Brigid Gilhawley and Mary McCabe who were piped by just 3 points.

The competition was succeeded by a festive social gathering with refreshments in the Clubhouse and a presentation of a fantastic array of prizes acknowledging all competitions which took place over the Spring. Winners of the various competions held were as follows:

Winners of the 9 Hole weekly competitions were Pauline Leonard, Kathleen Dawson, Brigid Gilhawley, Patricia McDermott, Lila Hardy, Della Hunt and Bernie McFadden.
The three person Scramble held in January was won by Teresa O’Leary, Anna McNelis and Maria McKenna with a score of 27.25 following in second place by Della Hunt, Nuala Kilroy and Kathleen Dawson with a score of 31.
Spring League weekly winners were Anne McKenna, Brigid Gilhawley, Anna McNelis, Bernie McFadden, Pauline Leonard and Ann McKenna. Our Easter Hampers Category 1 (0-20 H/C): 1st Della Hunt, 2nd Nuala Kilroy. Category 2 (21-28 H/C): 1st Maria McKenna, 2nd Anne McKenna. Category 3 (29+ H/C): 1st Mary McCabe.
A special competition was run over the 4-5 weeks to include newer lady members in competitions and in the social events within the club. Ann Holland and Monica Flynn were awarded prizes for the highest scores in this competition.

The Lady Captain Drive In competition, which is a charity competition dedicated this year to Crocus in Monaghan, was very well supported over the 3 weeks. First prize in this competition went to Betty Blemings and Second Prize went to Kanita Crawford.